Woodstock Methodist Church
Methodism came officially to Woodstock in 1819.
In 1819 Thomas Meek registered his house for Wesleyan Meetings. Under the Toleration Act, religious activities that were not part of the established church (the Church of England) had to be registered with the authorities. This house, therefore, was the first “Chapel” in the history of Woodstock and was used until a purpose-built chapel was erected in 1824 on the west side of Oxford Street. At the time, membership was about 19, but by 1851 attendance at morning services was about 60, and at evening services about 130.
Meanwhile, there were disagreements and splits among Methodists across the country, and in 1868 another group built the Olivet Chapel on the east side of Oxford Street. This United Free Methodist Church opened for worship on Good Friday of that year.
At the turn of the century, the Wesleyan Methodists decided to build a new chapel on land on the east side of Oxford Street. In 1932, as the various branches of Methodism united to form the national church, Woodstock Methodists decided to close the Olivet Chapel and worship together in the Wesleyan chapel, the present home of our congregation.
With a membership of 65 and a Junior Church numbering about 15, we are a warm, welcoming church with a vibrant worshipping community.
As well as our own activities, we are committed to supporting groups and events in the wider community and across the world. We are a Fairtrade church and our current church project is to support two charities, Helen & Douglas House and All We Can (formerly Methodist Relief & Development). We are very active ecumenically and in close relationship with our Anglican, Baptist and Roman Catholic friends. The Church also actively supports the work of the Woodstock Youth Work Trust (WYWT), a charity which exists to help teenagers in Woodstock and the surrounding area explore their own faith and spirituality.